The nemesis has been found… in FROYO!

Apparently, frozen yogurt is THE thing in Saint Louis. That, and cupcake shops. Since I am strict on the g-free diet, I have no interest in the cupcake side of things, but I do love me some froyo. And I’ve been loving it indeed. I use it as a treat for my diet-redux: no more than once a week, and fruit/nuts instead of candy toppings.

My world was rocked this week with an email from my friend, E. She emailed the company, Orange Leaf Yogurt, which is a fro-yo chain that is here in town:

Hi E,

Orange Leaf Frozen Yogurt has multiple Gluten Free yogurt flavors. The only flavors that are not gluten free are: wedding cake, birthday cake, brownie batter, snickerdoodle, red velvet, cookies and cream, peanut butter and chocolate peanut butter. All of our other flavors not included on the list above are gluten free. If you have any other questions please let me know and I will be happy to answer them.

Uhm.. what?

I’m pretty sure Red Velvet is the second best flavor, next to (you guessed it) PEANUT BUTTER.

REALLY?!

Eeeek.

Truthfully, I haven’t noticed the gluten from my ventures to fro-yo. Apparently I’m not as sensitive as I thought… or maybe I just lucked out in not eating a whole bowl of the gluten-y kind and just doing the samples (isn’t that what everyone goes to froyo for anyway?). And I have probably had it a handful of times (this weekly thing started after I got back from a conference at the end of June, when it was insanely hot forever in the STL). But, it’s super important for all you gluten sensitive folk out there to pay attention.

Here are some tips for your next fro-yo venture if you’re rocking it gluten free-

  • Ask for the ingredients list and make sure you don’t pick any of the seemingly-obviously-gluten-filled flavors.
  • Eat at Red Mango, which is AWESOME, are certified gluten free. and that means ALL of their yogurts are (now watch the toppings of course).
  • When in doubt, go for the basic flavors. Tart, sorbets, and vanillas probably lack in the gluten department.
Good luck, froyo-ians!
About megankillian

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Delaware. I love biomechanics!

Posted on July 29, 2011, in Food, gluten-free. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. We just had a new fro-yo place open in Minneapolis called Chilly Billy’s… SOOO good!! And so dangerous.

  2. Don’t worry about missing out on cupcakes. They are just for people that are just to ashamed to eat frosting by the spoonful.

    Because cupcakes are really just fluffy frosting-covered plates. YEAH THAT IS RIGHT. I SAID IT!

    ..buncha frosting drunk fatties….

  3. I love love love Red Mango! There is one right around the corner from my office. For some sad reason they have taken the smoothies off the menu. Very sad. But seriously good froyo!

    • AW yeah!! Red Mango is cool. There is a froyo place in the Park Slope of STL (aka Clayton) and I’m hoping their stuff is all Gfree too.

  4. Thank you for the gf tips. I can always use more. I wish there were a gf cupcake place in town. I’m not too ashamed to eat icing by the spoonful!!

Leave a Reply

