I guess it was time to take a break

February started with a bang. Actually, it started with rain, winds, ice, and snow. The snow wasn’t fun snow. It was the snow that has the texture of sugar, abrasive and hellacious. It’s the snow that you loathe if you’re a Nordic skier looking for the perfect wax. In Missouri, I have learned, the winters can be cruel. Not that I don’t know what winters are like. I have lived in the mountains, I’ve lived in the Yoop, I’ve seen- I’ve experienced-Β winters. But I’ve never experienced a real Missouri winter before. At first, I thought everyone was so full of sh*t. Really? A “midwest” winter? I mean, I grew up on Lake Erie, I went swimming in Lake Superior in December… and you’re telling me its cold and nasty in MO? Pshahhh….

But I bit my tongue. I nodded and grinned when people would say such things. And then, hell froze over. Literally…

Winters in Missouri are like a bipolar boyfriend who has never sought treatment. One day, it’s 60F and sunny. The next? It’s 30 and raining. Then the rain is freezing to the ground, the temperature keeps dropping, the winds keep picking up… and your car ends up with an inch-thick sheet of ice on it. Forget driving. Unless your car is equipped with ice skates, you ain’t going anywhere. Β And on the first of February, this is exactly what happened. It started with some rain, some wind, and the temperatures dropped. The next day, the entire town was covered in ice, schools were canceled, the city of St Louis shut down, and everyone was in panic mode. Granted, I didn’t think we needed to buy out the toilet paper and bottled water at Schnucks (that might have been going a little far), but closing schools seemed entirely reasonable.

Luckily, I got to experience the entire week of lackluster road clearing and icy sidewalks before heading south. By the time the weekend came around, the temperatures were already rising and the roads were clear. I didn’t care, I was excited to leave if just for a week.

So. Where did I go? Here’s a hint:

What do tropical rainforests, deep-fried everything, and really awesome people have in common? …

Give up?

Each can be found in Puerto Rico.

I have never been to the Caribbean before this past week, and luckily the weather was tame and… gorgeous. I usually hate hot, humid places. But it wasn’t too hot. There was always a nice breeze from the Trade Winds, and the scenery was phenomenal.

The people were incredibly friendly, especially our driver George. But that’s the Puerto Rican way, I think. How can you not be happy if all you do is stuff outside?

Luckily, I wasn’t completely engulfed by the Puerto Rican lifestyle. Don’t get me wrong, I ate fried food (fried plantains came with everything…) and I laid in the sun a little too long, leaving my skin the color of lobster. But I did get in a few decent runs. I did some “swimming”- that included diving under and over waves, and body surfed. I hiked in El Yunque National Forest, and I even did some kayaking (granted, it was an eco-tour to see the bioluminescent bay… but I count it nonetheless).


I made it back to Missouri this morning, and I think I brought the nice weather back with me. I really can’t complain – as soon as I got back to my apartment, I grabbed my bike and headed out for a few hours in 60 degree and sunny weather. I feel refreshed, I feel ready to tackle work again, and I am feeling more motivated to train and get back into a schedule. I am also motivated to eat well again, get back into the routine of preparing healthy meals that don’t involve greasy plantains… although I have to admit- the Mofongo was quite delicious.

 

About megankillian

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Delaware. I love biomechanics!

Posted on February 13, 2011, in family, life, recovery, travel. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. whoo hoo for a vacation and feeling refreshed again- sounds like you got a much needed and well deserved break- definitely jealous about escaping the winter weather. πŸ™‚

  2. “a bipolar boyfriend who has never sought treatment.” That is hilarious. Have so much fun.

  3. Drooling in jealousy! I could use a nice beach to lay on right about now … and yes, jumping in and out of the waves counts as swimming (training for an OWS start? πŸ™‚ )!

  4. Thank you for bringing the warm weather back to the states with you! Going to be in the low 70’s all week here!!!!!

  5. Sounds like you had a very good vacation…Thanks for the update/pictures etc. Love ya Megan

  6. Sounds like a great time! Glad you are recovered and refreshed and ready to hit it!

  7. Beautiful = I love how you describe the STL. You are so correct!

  8. wonderful! So glad you had ‘that kind’ of vacation.. the kind that leaves you jazzed and ready to tackle the world.. not the kind that makes you feel like you need another vacation! πŸ™‚

  9. Awesome. I’m very jealous, thankfully I’m planning on planning my own caribbean trip for later this year! Hopefully my pale-ness wont end up too lobster-y.

  10. Oh – it was so cool to see this post! I’m taking my family to Puerto Rico for vacation this August (yes, I do know that it will be hot as Hades there that time of year). We’re very, very excited. I’d be interested to learn what other stuff you did – we’re doing the bioluminescent bay thing too.

Leave a Reply

