Oh, the possibilities…

It’s the 2nd of December. I feel like it should still be September. One of the unfortunate things about doing awesome things and having a great time is that time seriously flies by. In the last week, while exploring a new city, getting started at a new job, and living for the first time completely on my own, I’ve barely had time to reflect on what has been going on around me.

Things are now starting to settle down, and I’m finally beginning to reflect on what this year has brought me and what 2011 has in store. Just in time, too, since the new year is just around the corner. Trust me, it will be here before we know it.

But I’m not your traditional girl-who-gets-excited-about-the-new-year. I don’t necessarily consider the 1st of January any different than any other day. When it rolls around, I will go about my business, maybe head out for a run. I might sleep in a little, but that is the extent of my celebrations.

Even still, January 1st symbolizes a general awareness of time. It gives people a reason to reboot, to reflect, and to resolve.

For me personally, 2010 was a year of possibilities. I learned that I can test my strengths and weaknesses, not just in sport, but in academics and life, too. I learned that it really is worth testing the waters; putting yourself out there for all to see. I learned this year that it’s not possible to see your true potential unless you are aware that you very well just might fall flat on your face. But the reward will be worth it. I did things this year that I might never have thought I could do, things I might never have thought I was able to do. I have been fortunate to have been afforded opportunities that I have not always felt worthy to be receiving.

Luckily for you, any new year’s resolutions of eating better and staying healthy can be made a little easier with a gift from LARABAR. They offered to send one of my readers a wonderful LARABAR prize, just in time for the holidays and New-Year’s-Resolution’ing. I call it the Be-Fit-Kit, and it includes: a 16-count box of Coconut Cream Pie LARABARS, a water bottle, a sweet t-shirt, and a bandana. Don’t worry, Mystery Winner, the shirt will come in your size.

How cool is that?

If you know me, you know how much I love these bars. They are a healthy, gluten free snack bar that satisfies. And as a bonus, they are always coming out with new, delicious flavors that make a gluten free girl like me reminisce about the ol’ days when I could eat applie pie and peanut butter & jelly sandwiches. But, the best part? These bars are so good that I don’t even miss the days before being gluten free. Seriously.

For one entry into this contest: Tell me about one of the possibilities that lies ahead for you. If there’s something you hope to accomplish in the coming year that you’ve never done before, I want to hear about it. Are you hoping to make a big change to your life? Let’s hear it! In order to be entered into the contest, you must comment on this post.

All this could be yours! Nom nom nom...

Want a second entry? Mention this contest on your personal blog, and the comment again with a link to your post.

And for good measure, you can get a bonus third entry by tweeting about this contest. Be sure to include my twitter handle (@megankillian) so I know to enter you again.

On December 13th, I’ll assign every entrant a number and then pick a winner by using a random number generator.

I’m excited to hear from you! Good luck!

Disclaimer: LARABAR is providing this wonderful kit for free to one of my readers. Make sure to check out their website and blog if you haven’t already. And because this prize contains food, it can only be shipped to folks in the US or US Territories. Sorry, Canada!

About megankillian

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Delaware. I love biomechanics!

Posted on December 2, 2010, in contest, frugalGF, gluten-free. Bookmark the permalink. 50 Comments.

  1. Love me some bars! I am working on a book proposal – my first academic book. Yippee!! I also want to do a swim race.

    I am going to tweet right now!

  2. There are so many possibilities for 2011! How could I pick just one?

    Well, okay… I am excited about the possibility of running a trail ultra next year! There are a lot of them in Central IL, and I just need to find one and get signed up for it!

    (ps be sure to hold me to this!)
    (pps retweeted the contest!)

  3. That looks AMAZING! In 2011, I *will* do a Crossfit competition. πŸ™‚

  4. Well, my big thing for 2011 is going to be having my 4th baby! Yikes! Hopefully he will come on his due date because it would be the coolest birth date ever: 1/11/11.

    Other than that I’ve got a marathonand my first half ironman (i’ve done a full but not a half) so I’m excited for all that!

  5. I love Larabars. Let’s see…2011 will be about continuing towards excellence in everything I do..not perfection but excellence.

  6. I tweeted about this giveaway too!!

  7. New job. Full of opportunities! I love larabars…and the coconut cream pie! If you pick me I’ll send you some of my homemade ones. Which are just a good, maybe even better πŸ™‚

  8. Sweet, count me in! My new challenge for the year: I literally just signed up for the Birkie! And I’ve never skate skied before! I don’t even own a pair of skies (hopefully to be rectified this weekend at the UW Hoofers sale)

  9. I’m looking forward to completing my first full marathon, and maybe even meeting my new Twitter friend and STL transplant, @megankillian for a training run.

  10. Well I’m looking forward to my first marathon and my first Iron-distance triathlon!! And getting better at this blogging thing!! There are always new adventures right around the corner πŸ™‚

  11. I heart Larabars!! Just sent some to my sister in law in Iraq, too!
    I’m hoping to finish my first Olympic distance tri this summer, PR a Sprint tri and do a Route 66 Half Marathon next fall.

    (Retweeted the contest πŸ™‚ )

  12. I want to finish my master’s degree in Celtic studies here in Scotland and possibly (I don’t know if it’s allowed here in the UK) set up an adult learning (+55) program in Glasgow. It’d be based on the OLLI program in the States – no books, no tests, just learning.
    And, I want to run the Missoula Marathon in July. Maybe even do the triathlon, but I haven’t talked myself into that just yet.

  13. Pick me! Pick me! Loves me some Larabars. 2010 was a bust for me due to injuries, so I’m really hoping the running gods will shine on me in 2011.

  14. think I could win this two years in a row? haha You know my big goals this year. I’m so sick right now that I can barely contemplate getting off my duff to walk over to the coffee machine, but I hope to have an epic year… across the board. Racing, training, living. Got some things in my back pocket that will be revealed as the year goes on.

  15. BOOOURNS, Killian. Canada doesn’t like you guys either πŸ˜›

  16. I got here from Donna’s blog on coaching.
    My goals for this year are to run another marathon but this time gluten free. After years of wondering what was wrong I finally found out that gluten and my body don’t get along. The hardest part is figuring out how to fuel properly before a run. Lara bars have become a staple in my life since I became gluten free.

  17. I am looking forward to attempting to run a marathon less than three months after giving birth for the first time.

  18. Love me some Larabars! 2011 should be the year of the triathlon for me. I need to start with some swimming for the first time in almost two decades, then complete my first tri this summer. All leading up to Ironman Arizona. New territory. Major challenges. Should be an amazing year!

  19. I love Larabars!!
    For this coming year, I will attempting my first Ironman, Ironman Arizona!! I am terrified, but excited about the adventure that lies ahead of me. πŸ™‚

  20. if i can get back to running, i will be doing an oly this year πŸ™‚ larabars rock, i especially love the pb&j flavor!!

  21. Larabars are fantastic, and they’ve definitely become my go-to snack/fuel since becoming GF.

    My possibilities revolve around bike racing: this year, my big goals are to qualify and race in collegiate road and mountain bike nationals. *gulp*

  22. My possibility for 2011 is to ride a century on a mountain bike (don’t own a road bike). The Lara bars would be great fuel.

  23. I love Larabars. They seem to have samples at all the races in Denver Metro.

    On May 22 2011, I completing my triathlon even I terrified of swimming and biking. However, I am letting my fears limit my possibilities, and by the end of the year, I am going to complete the Boulder 70.3 IM.

  24. kelly steinberg

    from a racing point of view, i am tacking my first 50k in the dead of winter and will finish IMWI next september.

    most importantly, i am working to push myself more than i have. i tend to back down and don’t need to change that. it isn’t that i give up, but i don’t push myself as hard as i could. something is hiding inside and i am working to find that inner athlete who isn’t afraid of hard work and perseverance.

    and i love larabars!!

  25. 2011 is hopefully finally going to bring my first “real” job. I will graduate with my PhD over the summer and am applying for jobs right now! Another HIM or two might also get snuck in…

  26. Megan, I think that the Larabar kit will be a great starting point for the pre-wedding-year diet for me and Rachel! I’ll post again for contest entry #2.

  27. I’m new to blogging but I’m thankful that you’ve provided me with a little bit of content to keep my latest post from being too short. I mean every word!

    http://www.nikchaphalkar.com/2010/uncategorized/the-life-of-a-non-grad-student

  28. Mmm, larabars totally rock! Great giveaway! The possibility that lies in front of me: making it to Boston, injury-free this spring. It’s been a bumpy road with lots of set backs, I just really want to recover and remain injury free again!

  29. I just tweeted about your giveaway too! πŸ™‚

  30. I ADORE Larabars. I have one huge goal for 2011 and that is to qualify for the 2012 Olympic Marathon Trials. I’m a huge long shot but I gotta believe right?!

  31. Count me in. Possibilities? I really really really really really want to find a new job. After 5 years of resigning myself to the same old same old, I think I really have to stop this year. I’ve got some goal dates in mind; whether or not they’ll work out isn’t 100% up to me…but I’d like to actually try a little harder.

    And yeah, I need to take time off the marathon PR. That one is eating at me. It’ll be 10 years since I graduated college, so maybe I can come up with a couple milestones not related to age for the new year. πŸ˜‰

  32. I heart Larabars!

    I’m hoping to be making a big career jump in 2011. I have an application i just handed in YESTERDAY for my dream job so hopefully in early 2011 things will start moving!

  33. I love Larabars! And would love this whole kit- especially since in 2011 my goal is to finally get my friends together and run a Ragnar Relay! Never done an all night relay but I’ve always wanted to!!

  34. I am running my first marathon in March! I am still in the excited stage… I think larabars would make a great pre run snack πŸ™‚

  35. Just discovered your blog – lots of great thoughts and adventures to read about πŸ˜€ Possibilities for 2011? My list includes consistent things like continuing to work with my husband on our fixer upper house and continuing to work on running the family dairy farm the best we can. Besides that, I plan to run at least two half marathons this year and set a new PR, or possibly tackle my first marathon. We shall see.

    I keep meaning to try Lara Bars and still haven’t, so this would be the perfect prize.

  36. I look forward to buying my first home! Talk about accomplishments!

  37. Tweeted! @vivalameaganx3

  38. I would love to win some Larabars to use training for my first HIM, New Orleans April 17th.

  39. My possibilities for this season are endless… I have typically only done sprint distance races while focusing on getting faster, but I will be expanding to Olympic distances, and am also debating doing the Half at Cedar Point as my later season peak race. I know the support will be there with the new team!

    Along with those goals, eating healthier to match the training I do so not to sabotage it by eating junk.

  40. OA placement in an event; multi sport or otherwise. I seem to always just be outside of the OA podium, and this year I can do it in my TRAKKERS green!!

  41. I love Lara bars.
    Goals…sub 20 5K, sub 1:30 HM, sub 3:10 marathon and sub 5:10 HIM.

  42. I’m seriously considering my first 50 mile!

  43. Oooh, yum!

    Running related I’m emotionally (but not financially) committed to my “redemption” marathon in May.

    Life related we are about 98% positive we are not releasing in WI, instead we are planning on moving to CO in June, jobs or no jobs…terrifying!

  44. Hope you haven’t picked yet! This year I am planning on entering my first (ok 2nd, but the last one was in 2004) triathlon every and running a 1:45 half! As far as life goes, I am looking forward to a semester off of grad classes (the last one I need isn’t offered this semester) and a job change after Christmas break! If anything, the Larabars may come in handy if I happen to stress eat!

  1. Pingback: The life of a non grad student | Nik Chaphalkar

  2. Pingback: Dear Pre-Winter, |

  3. Pingback: Slackeroo « 365 Days of Fitness

  4. Pingback: The Endurance Meg Holiday Wish-List « in training

Leave a Reply

