Healthier snacks for a busy gluten-free girl

My mom has a great tradition of stocking up on snacks and handing them off to me when I see her. Since going gluten-free, she now buys just about anything that says “Gluten Free” on the label. Recently, Think Thin bars were on sale at Kroger, and she bought (literally) a box.

I couldn’t be more impressed. Although I’m a (not-so-closet) fan of junk food like Snickers and peanut butter M&Ms, I have tried to cut back a bit on my junk food intake since my season break began. The first week was a little rough, since my dissertation was due, I was traveling a lot, and it was the week of Halloween. But, I have since got into a better habit of cooking more meals, eating oatmeal for breakfast, and having a veggie-full lunch.

One thing that is hard for me, though, is making it through the day without having a snack. So, I took that box of Think Thin bars to school and stuffed them into my desk. Every time I eat one of these bars, I am reminded to think about what I am eating, because how we fuel ourselves is crucial to our health.

Following a strict gluten-free diet, I sometimes find it a little more complicated to plan a perfectly balanced meal than when I wasn’t gluten-free. And, to be honest, sometimes french fries just sound good. But I have noticed that there are times when my diet lacks in the protein department, and then I go on a rampage for a nice, juicy steak. So, I’m excited that Think Thin bars have plenty of protein to make me feel full, and of course, satisfy my sweet tooth. Plus, the protein in these products is from whey, casein, and soy, which is a great mixture for muscle recovery.

My favorite flavor is the creamy peanut butter, but the cookies and cream brings back memories of Oreos (that I oh-so-miss). So next time, instead of reaching for a Snickers, I’m going to reach for a Think Thin bar. Since I have a case of these bad boys, and they taste pretty darn good!

About megankillian

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Delaware. I love biomechanics!

Posted on November 13, 2010, in Food, gluten-free. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. i had those when I was in south carolina for spring cycling last year- they were so addictive and tasted like a dessert! but my stomach seems to reject them 😦 not sure if it’s the potential of some dairy or the soy but I was so sad when I realized that they weren’t settling with my tummy because they were so friggin delicious! I still eat them sometimes after a race…even though I know they don’t sit well because they are just too yummy!

  2. Bre – unfortunately, I don’t think they are dairy free because the protein is constituted with casein… Luckily I don’t have a problem with dairy so my body handles them fine.

  3. Awesome! I started a 100 day no candy, no cake, no brownies challenge. I can use a healthy snack during the next 94 days. Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

