Get into a fight…

… with some powerful fruit.

I never really had pomegranate in-the-raw before. I remember last year, Baberaham and I bought one, but it barely had any seeds and the seeds it had just tasted terrible. I saw one this weekend at the Keweenaw Coop so I bought it to go Round 2. Let’s get ready to rumble!!!!

Here’s a fun way to get the seeds out of this delicious fruit:

Cut the pomegranate in half transversely. Hold one half over a bowl and beat with a wooden spoon, trying to not hit your hand.

Keep hitting it. In hindsight, pomegranates make good stress-relievers.

Be careful not to squeeze the fruit, otherwise you might get some of the pulp in mixed in with the seeds. It’s not really that tasty.

Once the seeds are out, they’re ready to eat!

About megankillian

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Delaware. I love biomechanics!

Posted on November 2, 2010, in Food. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. haha. I had one this weekend and I’m still finding splatters all over my kitchen walls.

  2. I love pomegranates! The seeds are sooo yummy!

  3. I just had my first of the season last night. When I do mine, I cut the “top” off, score it in quarters (just going through the tough skin), and then submerge the whole thing in a bowl of water while I break it apart and empty the fruit. It keeps any splatters confined to the water, and any of the flesh floats to the top. I skim the top, dump the water, and EAT!!!!

Leave a Reply

