Random questions, and questions about food

Jamie tagged me in his latest blog post over at Swim Bike Run Live, and I feel honored. This dude is legit! His answers made me giggle. So, here are mine!

1. If you could eat anything without any health repercussions or guilt, what would your meal be?

Ice cream. Mint chocolate chip? Yes please. Moose tracks, french vanilla, Zanzibar- its all awesome. Although I used to love chocolate chip cookie dough and was sad when I had to give it up after going gluten free, but now I don’t miss it. But I still probably wouldn’t say no to a double dipped CCCD in a waffle cone.

2. If you could meet anyone living or dead who would it be and why?

Bill Clinton. He’s a pretty smart dude who (I’d imagine) could carry on an intellectual conversation.

3. Why did you start blogging and what did you expect when you started?

I started blogging about two years ago to keep my family updated with my happenings, and so I didn’t really expect too much in terms of traffic and readership.

4. What is the one book you could read over and over again?

Like Jamie, I’m also not big on books. However, I do really like The Book Thief and could probably read that again. And Life of Pi. Mind you, these are middle-school-reading-level kinds of books.

5. If you could travel anywhere, where would it be?

The Himalayas. I love the mountains. Studying abroad in New Zealand was awesome and I’d totally go back for another semi-permanent vacation.

6. If you could have a TV show on the Food Network, what would it be?

Probably something where I could eat the food that someone else cooks. I’d be one of those full-time judges on Iron Chef or something. Baberaham is the master chef in our household. I can master protein shakes, salads, and noodles with butter. Or, if I really had to have my own show where I cooked, it would be a show where I cook gluten-free stuff that actually tastes good.

7. What was the best meal you ever had?

The best meal I have ever had would probably one of the last gluten-full meals I remember. Not just because it was gluten-full, but because it was perfect. I brought back fresh halibut and Deadlift Imperial IPA from a race in Seattle and Baberaham made beer-battered fish and chips with it. It was the most amazing, buttery, awesomeness that I have ever had. I only wish that IPAs were gluten free. C’mon beerologists, dooo it…

8. Who has been the greatest influence on your love for food and learning to cook?

B- for sure. My skills at cooking pale in comparison of this kid. He’s not afraid to experiment, add spices, mix things up. It is adventurous. He also encouraged me to try the gluten free diet because of my stomach woes, and for that he’s definitely influenced my way of cooking. He’s helped me learn to love food, not just because it nourishes our bodies but also because it can nourish our soul. Food isn’t just for eating, its for enjoying.

So I’m tagging:

Aimee and Shannon – my new blogger friends and foodies

Jess, Bre, and e410– some sweet grad school athletes

About megankillian

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Delaware. I love biomechanics!

Posted on October 30, 2010, in Food, gluten-free. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Nice answers! Yumm…ice cream! I like Moose tracks too!
    Thanks for the tag! I was tagged by another blogger too and did my post yesterday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

