Grad Students: Poor Life Choice?

As a grad student, I often get the sense that I am low on the totem pole.

And, well, I am not the only one that would agree. Aside from declaring today as National Kick a Graduate Student Day, I had to laugh as I was enlightened by the following YouTube snippets of popular culture (thanks FL, Adam, and Jamie!). Enjoy:

About megankillian

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Delaware. I love biomechanics!

Posted on October 25, 2010, in academia. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. You have to admit, there is some basis for all the jokes.

    Any population that says “Institutionalized indentured servitude?! Yes please! Tens of thousands of dollars and years of my life?! Where do I sign up!” deserves to be made fun of at least a little bit.

    But grad students will probably be the ones to create the next Google/Apple and cure cancer or something like that (after finally paying off their enormous student loans), so don’t let it get to you.

  2. This is hilarious. As a PhD candidate in organic materials chemistry (uggh, we sound like such NERDS), I totally appreciate this 😉

  3. okay best line ever! “don’t pick on grad students….they just made terrible life choices!!” hahahahha omg…I love it 😉 thanks for the laugh!

  4. hehe, nice. i have to say though, being a postdoc isn’t much better!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Grad Students: Poor Life Choice? « in training -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

