You can make those again…

Yesterday was a recovery day, and like many of my fellow endurance athletes, I used the day to catch up on food. Since I only had a swim, and I got that done in an hour at lunchtime (it was a tough hour… but a good one), I spent the afternoon finding recipes in my Gluten Free Gourmet cookbook. Although I came across a delicious pound cake recipe that I flagged, none of the cookie recipes sounded all that satisfying or feasible (I was in the mood for sugar, not oatmeal). Fortunately, a quick Google search launched me over to the Land O’ Lakes butter website. They have an entire collection of gluten free foods. Go figure.

The recpe called for cream of tartar, and since I didn’t have any, I substituted the baking soda/cream of tartar allotments with straight-up baking powder. Thanks again, Google. It worked alright, although my dozen cookies converged into one. I’m not sure if that’s the baking powder’s fault, or because the cookies were nothing but featherlight flour mix and sugar and butter. Good thing I greased the pan with lots of butter (sorry, Land O’ Lakes, I’m a Jilberts fan).

My cabinets are stocked with Bob's Red Mill gluten free flours

The Snickerdoodle recipe was easy, and my only modifications, aside from subbing baking powder for cream of tartar and baking soda, was to sub cinnamon and sugar with Askinosie chocolate chunks. I used about a third of a bar of 70% dark chocolate, chopped it up, and folded it into the cookie dough.

The end result? Fantastic. Crumbly, yummy, buttery cookies with chocolate chunks. Cookies the size of my hand. I made these last night, and believe it or not, they have already disappeared. Baberaham just told me: “You can make those again, anytime!”

Healthy? Probably not. Delicious? You betcha. And since the recipe only makes a dozen cookies (granted, they are large cookies), there isn’t a fear of caloric catastrophy from eating the entire plate. The cookie yield is the rate limiting factor, not your inner strength to say “no”- which when it comes to cookies, neither B nor I really have one.

About megankillian

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Delaware. I love biomechanics!

Posted on August 24, 2010, in gluten-free. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

