The blueberry queen

Yesterday afternoon, I went blueberry picking at the Gierke Blueberry Farm in Chassell. I was on a mission to pick a shitton of blueberries, enough blueberries to (dare I say it) last me through the year. This is a big feat, because I 1) LOVE blueberries and 2) have a problem with stopping when I eat them.

I picked and picked, and picked some more. I found a few jackpot bushes, and felt gluttonous about halfway through but could.not.stop.picking. By the time my friends dragged me away, I was 17.5lbs of blueberries richer.

What will I do with all these blueberries, you ask? What won’t I do. Muffins. Cobbler. Ice cream. Oatmeal. A bloggy-friend sent me a recipe for Zippy-Fast Blueberry Crisp (via microwave) and I am psyched to try it. But my favorite thing to do with blueberries is just eat them raw and plain.

Today, they’ll be fueling me right on a long ride through the Keweenaw (I had creamy grits with 1/2c blueberries for brekky). Chances are good that I will stop along the road somewhere and find another blueberry (or raspberry. or thimbleberry) bush to steal from.

About megankillian

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Delaware. I love biomechanics!

Posted on August 1, 2010, in Food, health, Upper Peninsula. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Oooh!! If your friend doesn’t mind… would you share the microwave crisp recipe with me? I have some blubs in the fridge that would probably be better cooked at this point 😉

  2. I just put blueberries in my oatmeal this morning. LOVE that!

  3. Don’t forget to freeze some so you can have delicious blueberries in the middle of winter!

    P.S. – I bet your poop is nice and purple today!

  4. 17.5 lbs? wow. No joke, you are the queen. Wear that crown proudly.

  5. mmmmm mmmmm… i love eating frozen blueberries for dessert. Also very good with a few sliced almonds, drizzle of honey, and dash of cinnamon!

  6. I know this recipe isn’t gluten free, but maybe it will work with GF flour? Barefoot Contessa’s coffee cake muffins (sour cream is KEY!)… sooo yummy!

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/blueberry-coffee-cake-muffins-recipe/index.html

  7. 17.5 pounds?

    Well THIS explains the recent blueberry shortage here in California.

    On a positive note, picking blueberries may be the only thing you do that I have a chance of keeping up your pace.

    I’ve already given up on keeping up with you on the swim, bike or run so I think I start working on my random fruit picking skills.

    All the best,

    Ron

Leave a Reply

