July's Festival of… Races?

In July, Traverse City has the famous Cherry Festival.

There’s also the Gilroy Garlic Festival in California, Christmas in July festivals practically everywhere, and more 4th of July festivals than you can imagine.

But in July, I’m having my very own Festival of Races.

The first weekend, 4th of July, will include the Horsetail Scramble– a 10K on some of my favorite trails. I’ve never done it, but since I will be in town and not camping (my parents are coming up to visit), and its a late start (1pm) I think I am going to give it a go. Plus, TK (the RD) is one heckuva good guy!

On the second weekend, Run the Keweenaw will take place in Copper Harbor. This event is going to take full advantage of the awesome Copper Harbor IMBA Epic trails, including some of the new ones. It also has the infamous hill climb up Mt Lookout.

The next weekend, July 17th, is my best runnin’ pal Marg’s wedding, and coincidentally (although I’m pretty sure she intended it) is also the Canal Run. This is the only 10mile race I’ve ever done, but it’s definitely my favorite. It’s a fast, USATF certified course, too!

After that, I’m throwing in my hat in the half at Chisago Lakes again.

Phew, its going to be a busy month (did I mention I am trying to wrap up my research, too?). Good thing these races are so local!

About megankillian

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Delaware. I love biomechanics!

Posted on June 27, 2010, in racing. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Sounds like a fun month. Busy, but fun. I hope you find time to work on your research paper too!

Leave a Reply

