8 days

This week was a little stressful as I schizophrenically avoided all the returning students and their silent H1N1 viruses. I was tempted to go to the pharmacy to get a small particle mask to wear while sitting at my desk, as my new office mates sniffled and coughed their way through their first week of homework. I bought a bottle of 1000mg Vitamin C, a box of antioxidant tea, and have been getting over eight hours of sleep a night. Needless to say, I am paranoid.

And the taper is making me feel anxious. I feel sore. Lethargic. My quads hurt on the “up-hill” climb out to Schmidt’s Corner this afternoon, and I felt like I was pedaling hard and barely keeping up. My mile repeats yesterday probably played a factor into that, even though I was disappointed with how they panned out (6:04, 6:14, 6:18 with 4-5min recovery between).

But, not too much left to do. The hay is in the barn, so to speak. Here’s how this week’s training panned out:

Tuesday– Swam 30minutes of endless relay with Adam at lunch
Rode for 2hours with Margot in the afternoon
Wednesday– Copper Country Running Club group run 1.5hours in the evening
Thursday– Mile repeats (2mi warmup, 3xmiles, and half-hour cooldown) followed by an open water swim (25minutes)
Friday– 1hour easy spin

The plan for the rest of the weekend? Tomorrow I am going to break in my new Trances with a 13mile run. I might try the ST3s out on it to see if they’ll hold up (or, hold me up). Sunday, I am going to take a nice easy spin and do some swimming work in the pool.

About megankillian

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Delaware. I love biomechanics!

Posted on September 4, 2009, in In Training. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I would be the same way (paranoid!). Stay healthy!!

  2. Don't blame you for worrying about falling ill – wish sick people would stay home! Stay healthy and good luck at Iron Man! While you are racing I will be hanging out (well backpacking) on an island in Michigan (though it is waaaay closer to Minnesota and Canada).

Leave a Reply

